Skip to content

Each NHL Team’s Biggest Character: Anaheim Ducks, George Parros

January 31, 2012

So to start the month of February I’m making my next blog topic each NHL team’s biggest “character”. Now when I say character, I mean the player that sticks out the most to me. It doesn’t rely on the player’s skill, but rather their on-ice/off-ice activities, general appearance and how much of an interesting name they make for themselves through various ways. If you don’t agree with my choices, let me know! Just because I’m writing this doesn’t mean I’m correct, these are just my opinions.

Anaheim Ducks: George Parros

You want a character? Look no further than the Anaheim Duck’s George Parros. Here is a force to be reckoned with. Standing at 6’5″ 232 lbs. this guy is pretty hard to miss. He is one of the biggest goons in the league racking up more PIMs than points each year.  This guy can pack a punch, don’t believe me? Take a look at this TKO he puts on Riley Cote

But as big as he makes himself known on the ice, his off ice persona is what really makes him a character. First off, he’s got a Bachelor’s in economics from Princeton University, no too shabby. I think it’s safe to say if he didn’t make in professional hockey, he’d have been just fine.

The other great thing about Parros off the ice is his moustache. I think we all know by this point what a facial hair enthusiast I am, and I’d kill to be able to grow a moustache like his. Hell, his moustache might be a bigger name than him. If you go to his wikipedia page there’s a whole section on his moustache, and in it they give some pretty interesting facts. According to the page, “growing up, Parros and his brother Jeff would have mustache-growing competitions. “George Parros Mustaches” are also sold at the Anaheim Ducks team store inside the Honda Center, with the proceeds going to charity.” His twitter handle is even named after the damn thing (@Stache16, I suggest you follow it, he’s pretty funny). I really dig the stache because a lot of the headline players in the NHL are so young and can’t really grow facial hair, but Parros’  crumb catcher is a true symbol of old time hockey. Last thing to know about Parros is his sick flow. (For those of you who aren’t familiar with hockey lingo, “flow” refers to a hockey players long hair which “flows” out of the back of his helmet). Parros’ flow is seldom rivaled but he’s willing to lose it for a good cause. Each Christmas he cuts it and donates it to locks of love. For a guy that shows the civility of a grizzly bear on the ice, he’s a nice well-to-do guy, from his charity work to his econ degree.

I’m glad the Ducks are first alphabetically in the NHL because I can’t think of anyone who I would rather start off this list with. Ladies and Gentlemen, George Parros.

P.S. his stache also has it’s own clothing line, check it out! http://www.stachegear.com/

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

