Skip to content

My Very Own Blog, Aren’t I Special…

November 15, 2011

Well I’ve been pressured into making a blog about beards, booze, hockey and whatever “tickles my fancy”. Here’s to hoping this works out well. Right now we are mid-No Shave November and I’ll be posting “beards of the day”. Today we  have Phil Jackson. Here we go!

HAPPY NO SHAVE NOVEMBER!!!!!!!!!!! Yesterday the NBA announced it will not be having a season this year. And while I’m not really a basketball fan, as a fan of the NHL which had a lock out in 04-05, I feel for ya. So basketball fans this ones for you. Today we salute Phil Jackson. I know I have a lot of Bulls fans reading this and I don’t have to tell all of you twice about the 11 NBA titles he has won as a coach (6 with Chicago 5 with the LA Lakers). But lets take a step back in time, in 1967 a young Phillip was drafted by the New York Knicks, eager to play the game and get his name out there. But by 1974-1975 seasons he had failed to do so; running out of options Phil did the only two things a man could: grow a beard and play dirty. In that season Mr. Jackson put up a league leading 330 personal fouls with one of the baddest beards basketball has ever seen. If you throw a black robe, yamaka, and some curly sideburns (called payots) on him in this picture, he turns from Professional Basketball Player to Rabbi! A lot us in my generation imagine Phil Jackson as the older man with the white beard, who won many a championship, but I prefer the younger “hack-em and smack-em) version. While there may be no NBA season this year to watch we can all take solace in the fact that we could probably all sit down and look at the glory that is Phil Jackson’s beard for about an hour and a half whenever we miss our favorite NBA team, and for that, we salute you.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

